Share |

Sunday, May 31, 2009 -- Eleanor, WV / Eleanor Park
Creek to Peak XC Race - WVMBA #4 (iPO Event Id#: 11644)

[Details] [Coverage] [Photos] [Overall Results] [Results by Class]

WVMBA Double Starts Suck (Thanks to Mud)

Article and photos by Theresa Svoboda

Creek to Peak photo by Theresa Svoboda
See More Photos
The sign upon entering Eleanor, West Virginia, should not only read "The cleanest city in WV," It should also say, may I suggest, home of the best muddy, swoopy single-track in Putnam County!

This is an interesting time in the cross country season, when mountain bikers can look at their overall standings in the West Virginia Mountain Bike Association (WVMBA), competitively packed '09 schedule and start strategizing. At this point, the competition becomes obvious: racers decide who to chase after or, preferably, stay ahead of to work for a top seed by years end.

Spectators may notice, too, that the revolution has started. Single Speeds, 29r's, and 1x9 custom builds appear to be the golden ticket in racing cross country.

Jeremy Rowand finished first overall, beating Expert Nick Waite by 4+ minutes when he rolled across the finish line with a time of 2hrs 13 minutes. Ben Ortt followed closely behind for a third place victory.

Single Speeder Benji Klimas rolled into a first place with a sweet time of 2hrs, 35min followed by six others with the same set up.

Excellent riding skills & a big engine make a single speed ride an ideal choice and chance to get better during the challenging singletrack ride in the points schedule.

Creek to Peak photo by Theresa Svoboda
See More Photos
In the Men's Sport Division, the competition this year is pretty fierce. Fifteen riders were separated by just one hour. A lot can happen in this grouping. Some folks to watch are Jason Brumfield, who sealed a first place win, Quentin Berg and Jarrett Smith.

Cassie Smith has been having a great year,too, impressing with her time of three hours. It was great to see her little guy speed across the finish in 1st during the 1pm kids race, too. Way to go Levi!

James VanHorn dominated Clydesdales with no one coming close to his time of 2hrs, 14 min.

First place mens Experts Kris Aldridge & Masters winner Scott Root has big smiles picking out their leader prizes, as they got great picks at the amazing table of shwag set up at awards. Thanks to all the sponsors!

Men's Sport Masters Winner Steve Thorne has picture-perfect moments on the trail, as did Dennis Butcher, the overall leader this year for beginners.

Thanks for the big smiles, men! Be sure to look yourselves up in the iPlayOutside gallery.

Also, Congratulations to Dave Brown, Bobby Thornton, Jody Blough & JD Barnette, all top winners in their respective categories. Great job, keep those wheels rolling!

Best of Luck to all of you for the rest of your season. Now go out, ride hard and have fun! And by the way, race director Larry Perkins has photos from Saturday's time trials too.